The Microbiology Consortium of the Philippines

The Microbiology Consortium of the Philippines (MCP), previously Microbiology Consortium, is the capacity-building arm of the Philippine Society for Microbiology, Inc. (PSM). With Dr. Asuncion K. Raymundo as  Founding Chair, it was formally launched during the 47th PSM Annual Convention and Scientific Meeting held on 19-20 July 2018 at Legazpi City, Albay.

MCP is a consortium of higher education institutions committed to the promotion of excellence and ethics in the practice of Microbiology in the Philippines by the sharing of resources and information among its member higher education institutions (HEIs). It seeks to complement or supplement PSM’s activities in the following areas :

  • Provision of the expertise needed for trainings, seminars, workshops, and conferences in Microbiology Education;
  • Facilitation of arrangement between and among member HEIS in the sharing of manpower and other resources;
  • Assistance to member HEIs in accessing scholarship/fellowship/research/extension grants;
  • Provision of expert assessment of microbiology capabilities and other microbiology-related issues to member HEIs; and
  • Promotion of academe-industry partnerships in Microbiology training and research.

MCP is governed by the MCP Council which is currently (FY 2019-2022) composed of the following: Dr. Windell L. Rivera (Chair), Dr. Franco G. Teves (ViceChair), Dr. Bernadette C. Mendoza (Secretary), Prof. Angella Melissa A. Carlos (Treasurer and PSM Representative, Microbiology Education Division), Dr. Prima Fe R. Franco (Coordinator, Northern and Central Luzon), Prof. Joel C. Cornista (Coordinator, NCR), Dr. Yolanda A. Ilagan (Coordinator, Regions IV and V), Dr. Resurreccion B. Sadaba (Coordinator, Visayas Region), Dr. Maria Elena N. Tanabe (Coordinator, Mindanao Region), Dr. Donna May D. Papa (PSM President, Ex-Officio Member) and Dr. Asuncion K. Raymundo (Founding Chair, Ex-Officio Member).